Voss got off two shots with his .270 that proved fatal to the bear, but the grizzly bit Voss about the head they usually go for the head and killed him. The big grizzly dropped, kicked and then lay still. he has said the gun is (in his words) in deplorable condition as BellaRead more . Another account says that the bear was dropped with one .22-long cartridge, but that another 7 or 8 shots were used to be sure that the bear stayed down. One shot to the brain at contact distance will kill instantly. The story says the distance was a few yards, and so with a decent view of the target it would not be a tall tale at all. On that fascinating subject, Ive been amassing information for some 40 years of living as a teacher, fruit grower and hunter in that bear paradise, British Columbia, where stories of encounters with grizzlies and brown bears are enjoyed where ever sportsmen gather and are often headlined in newspapers and television newscasts. WEST GLACIER - A grizzly bear fell to its death Thursday morning in Glacier National Park. Amazing. There have been quite a few debates over this big bear takedown, from how many rounds it actually took to what kind of rifle she used. MULE DEER NON-TYPICAL. Dont mess with country girls. My Uncle Arthur, his Father also named Arthur. She was known to be a deadly shot with the small rifle. This cookie can only be read from the domain they are set on and will not track any data while browsing through other sites. Officials who shot the . That cartridge has killed many grizzlies and browns. C.I.L. If I ever find anymore longs Ill put it in as my new self defense weapon. In 1986, another record-class grizzly was killed by Alvars Barkis of Sinking Spring, Pennsylvania, with a .300 Magnum; and a medium-size one, about 500 pounds, was killed by 12-year-old Gary H. Holmes of Kimberly, BC, with a .25/06. There are no berries available on 10 May in the vicinity of Slave Lake. The bear was as tall as their house. Larry died April 8, 2016, but